
BEFORE THE WEST VIRGINIA REAL ESTATE
APPRAISER LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION BOARD

IN THE MATTER OF:

CYNTHIA WALTON,
Licensed Residential Appraiser No. 0785

CONSENT DECREE

Now comes Respondent, Cynthia Walton (hereinafter "Respondent"), and the West

Virginia Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (hereinafter "Board"), by

Sharron L.-Knotts, its Executive Director, for the purpose of resolving Board Complaint

Number 07-013, against Respondent. As reflected in this Consent Decree, the parties

have reached an agreement in which Respondent hereby agrees and stipulates to the

r>. Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law set forth in the instant Consent Decree

concerning the proper disposition of this matter, and the Board, having approved such

agreement, does hereby find and Order as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Board is a state entity created by W. Va. Code § 30-38-1, et seq., and

is empowered to regulate, among other things, the conduct of licensed residential

appraisers.

2. Respondent is a state licensed residential real estate appraiser licensed by

the Board, holding license number 0785.

3. On or around June 26, 2007, Respondent performed an appraisal of

residential property located at 379 Blue Lick Road, Winfield, West Virginia, 25213

r>. (hereinafter "Property").



4. Respondent opined the estimated value of the Property to be $1 ,025,000.00

as of June 26, 2007.

5. In choosing certain comparables in relation to the subject property,

Respondent obtained what she believed to be sales data and building specifications from

the builders of such properties.

6. Respondent did not verify such data obtained from the builders.

7. Respondent utilized comparable data that was either incorrect, unverifiable

or both.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Pursuant to Article 38 of Chapter 30 of the West Virginia Code, the Board is

the State entity vested with the power to regulate real estate appraisers in the State of .

West Virginia.

2. Pursuant to West Virginia Code § 30-38-4(b), "[a] state licensed residential

real estate appraiser is authorized to conduct appraisals of: (1) Complex residential real

estate of one to four units having a value of less than two hundred fifty thousand dollars;

(2) noncomplex residential real estate of one to four units having a value of less than one

million dollars; and (3) nonresidential real estate having a value of less than one hundred

thousand dollars."

3. Pursuantto W. Va. Code §§ 30-38-12(a)(7) and 30-38-13(b), the Board may

revoke, suspend, refuse to renew, or otherwise discipline the license of an appraiser, or

deny an application, for any violation of any section of this article, or rule of the Board.

4. Respondent, as a licensed residential real estate appraiser, operated outside

of the scope of her licensure by and through completing the appraisal of the Property,
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where the value of such Property exceeded $1,000,000.00, in violation of W. Va. Code

§§ 30-38-12( a)(7), 30-38-13(b) ,and 30-38-4(b).

5. West Virginia Code § 30-38-17 provides, in pertinent part, that "[ejach real

estate appraiser licensed or certified underthis act shall comply with generally accepted

standards of professional appraisal practice and generally accepted ethical rules to be

observed by a real estate appraiser. Generally accepted standards of professional

appraisal practice are currently evidenced by the uniform standards of professional

appraisal practice promulgated by the appraisal foundation."

6. Pursuant to the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice,

Standards Rule 1-1(a), from which deviation is not permitted, "[ijn developing a real

property appraisal, an appraiser must ... be aware of, understand, and correctly employ

those recognized methods and techniques that are necessary to produce a credible

appraisal."

7. Respondent failed to be aware of, understand, and correctly employ

appropriate methods and techniques necessary to produce a credible appraisal ofthe

subject property, in violation ofW. Va. Code §§30-38-12(a)(7), -17, and USPAP Standards

Rule 1-1(a).

8. Pursuant to the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice,

Standards Rule 1-1(c), from which deviation is not permitted, H[i]n developing a real

property appraisal, an appraiser must ... not render appraisal services in a careless or

negligent manner, such as by making a series of errors that, although individually might not

significantly affect the results of an appraisal, in the aggregate affect the credibility of those

results."
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r>. 9. Respondent rendered appraisal services in regard to the above-referenced

properties, where such services contained error affecting the integrity and credibility of said

appraisals, in violation ofW. Va. Code §§ 30-38-12(a)(7), -17, and USPAP Standards Rule

1-1(c).

CONSENT
Respondent, both in her individual capacity and as a licensed residential real estate

appraiser, by the execution hereof, agrees to the following:

1. Respondent has had the opportunity to consult with counsel and executes

this Consent Decree voluntarily, freely, without compulsion or duress and mindful that it

has legal consequences. No person or entity has made any promise or given any

inducement whatsoever to encourage Respondent to make this settlement other than as

set forth herein. Respondent acknowledges that she is aware that she may pursue this

matter through appropriate administrative and/or court proceedings, and is aware of her

legal rights regarding this matter, but intelligently and voluntarily waives such rights.

2. Respondent consents to the entry of the following Order affecting her conduct

as a licensed residential real estate appraiser.

ORDER
On the basis of the foregoing, the Board hereby ORDERS as follows:

1. The real estate appraiser license of Respondent, Residential Appraiser

License No. 0785, is hereby REPRIMANDED.

2. Respondent shall pay to the Board the amount of seven hundred dollars

($700.00). Such payment by Respondent shall represent the costs incurred by the Board

associated with the investigation and prosecution of Complaint Number 07-013, and the
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subsequent reimbursement to the Board thereof. Respondent shall additionally pay to the

State of West Virginia a fine in the amount of five hundred dollars ($500.00). Such

payments shall be paid to the Board in full within thirty (30) days of the date of entry of the

instant Consent Decree.

4. Any deviation from the requirements of the instant Consent Decree, without

the prior written consent of the Board, shall constitute a violation of this Order, and result

in the immediate suspension of Respondent's license. The Board shall immediately notify

Respondent via certified mail of the specific nature of the charges, and the suspension of

Respondent's license. Respondent may request reinstatement of her license through

renewal of this agreement, or execution of a new agreement, which may contain different

or additional terms. The Board is not bound to comply with Respondent's request.

In the event Respondent contests any such allegations of violation of the Conserit

Decree, if any, which results in the suspension of Respondent's license, Respondent may

request a hearing to seek reinstatement of his license. Any such hearing shall be

scheduled and conducted in accordance with the provisions of West 'Virqinia Code

§ 30-1-8 and § 30-38-1, et seq.

Further, in the discretion of the Board and in the event Respondent violates the

.provisions of the instant Consent Decree, the Board may schedule a hearing on its own
"

initiative for the purpose of allowing the Board the opportunityto consider further discipline

against Respondent's license.
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AGREED TO BY:

DATE

ENTERED into the records of the Board this:

~~. day of f~. /
Y

,2008.

WEST VIRGINIA REAL ESTATE APPRAISER
LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION BOARD

By: ~. a-/a.r/o/
.~ DATE I
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
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