TRADITIONAL SUPERVISOR/APPRENTICE PATHWAY

In the traditional supervisor/apprentice pathway to licensure, you must first apply and be approved for
an apprentice permit prior to gaining experience that will count towards the required hours for licensure.
To begin the apprentice application process in the state of West Virginia, the following steps are
recommended:

STEP 1: Review the legal codes and rules, which are available on appraiserboard.wv.gov under Legal.

West Virginia Code WV Code §30-38
Legislative Rule §190-CSR2 (Requirements for Licensure and Certification)

STEP 2: Complete the mandatory qualifying education courses.

75 hours of creditable class hours are required, with passing scores on all core curriculum exams:
0 Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours), Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours), National
USPAP Course (15 hours)
0 Additional Requirement: West Virginia Appraisal Law (3 hours)

Lists of approved providers and courses are available on appraiserboard.wv.gov under Education.

Qualifying education must have been taken within the 5 years prior to submission of the
Apprentice Permit Application.

STEP 3: Establish an apprenticeship.

Contact an appraiser that holds either a Certified Residential (CR) or Certified General (CG)
Appraiser license about being your supervisor.
0 Note: The WVREALCB does not currently track appraisers that can/will take on an
apprentice.

The supervisory appraiser must have been a certified appraiser at least 3 years, be in good
standing with the WVREALCB, and any other state in which the supervisor is licensed, and not
have more than 3 apprentices at a time in this state.

A roster of licensed appraisers can be found on appraiserboard.wv.gov under Roster.

An additional 4-hour Supervisor-Trainee course is required, but those 4 hours do not count
towards the 75 hours of Qualifying Education.

STEP 4: Apply for an Apprentice Permit.

Detailed submission instructions are given in the Apprentice Permit Application, which is available
on appraiserboard.wv.gov under Forms:

0 Fully completed application

0 Notarized Oath & Affidavit

0 Education Completion certificates

0 High school diploma or equivalent

0 A non-refundable application fee (permit fee is not due until notification of approval)

Obtain a background check via www.identoGo.com

Please note that your supervisory appraiser will need to submit an Application for Supervisor
Certification, which is available on appraiserboard.wv.gov under Forms. If they haven’t done so
previously, they must also take the 4-hour Supervisor-Trainee course.

Once received, the Board will review the submitted application for approval.



